Quick Answer: How Many Times Has South Africa Won The Cricket World Cup?

When did South Africa win the Cricket World Cup?

ICC World CupYearWinnerFinal venue1999Australia 133/2 (20.1 overs)Lord’s, London2003Australia 359/2 (50 overs)Wanderers, Johannesburg, South Africa2007Australia 281/4 (38 overs)Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados2011India 277/4 (48.2 overs)Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India8 more rows.

Who is the best cricket player in South Africa?

Top 10 South African batsmen of all time10 Dudley Nourse. Although his best years as a batsman were interrupted by the Second World War, Dudley Nourse’s status as one of South Africa’s greatest ever batsmen is secure. … 9 Barry Richards. … 8 Darryl Cullinan. … 7 Gary Kirsten. … 6 Graeme Smith. … 5 Herschelle Gibbs. … 4 AB de Villiers. … 3 Hashim Amla.More items…•

Do Pakistani players play in IPL?

It is one of the great shames of modern cricket that Pakistani players do not play in the Indian Premier League. The IPL is the world’s leading T20 competition in terms of economic clout and the quality of cricket; however, it would be better off, on and off the pitch, if Pakistani players were permitted to play.

Why is South Africa written as RSA?

RSA stands for “Republic of South Africa”. The South African Cricket Association have this name as their abreviation because it is a status they have achieved in recent history. RSA is the republic of south Africa, which a is a country however Africa is a Continent. So we used to say RSA in cricket.

How many times South Africa has won the World Cup?

Four countries have won the trophy; New Zealand and South Africa three times, Australia twice, and England once. South Africa are the current champions, having defeated England in the final of the 2019 tournament in Japan.

Who has won the cricket World Cup till now?

Cricket World Cupyearwinnerresult2007AustraliaAustralia won by 53 runs2011IndiaIndia won by 6 wickets2015AustraliaAustralia won by 7 wickets2019EnglandMatch tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count8 more rows

Has Bangladesh ever won a cricket World Cup?

Bangladesh took part in each of the 1979, 1982, 1986, 1990, and 1994 editions of the ICC Trophy, and won the trophy in 1997, in the process qualified for the 1999 World Cup. … Bangladesh played in its first World Cup in England in 1999 and recorded their first win in a World Cup match against Scotland.

Why was South Africa banned from cricket?

In 1970, the ICC voted to suspend South Africa from international Cricket indefinitely because of its government’s policy of apartheid, an overtly racist policy, which led them to play only against the white nations (England, Australia, New Zealand), and field only white players.

Which country banned cricket?

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has banned Oman player Yousuf Abdulrahim Al Balushi from all cricket for seven years after he accepted four charges of breaching the ICC Anti-Corruption Code.